List Of Golden Glove Award Winners In The FIFA World Cup

List Of Golden Glove Award Winners In The FIFA World Cup

At the end of each FIFA World Cup, several awards are given to the players and teams who have outperformed in the game. The Golden Glove Award is one of the famous awards among themselves. It is given to the best goalkeeper of the tournament. It was introduced initially as Lev Yashin Award in 1994. Later it was named the Golden Glove in 2010. FIFA presented the top goalkeeper of the tournament based on their performance throughout the competition. Let us check the golden glove award winners in FIFA World Cup tournaments.

Golden Glove Award Winners in The FIFA World Cup

YearWinnerMatchesClean Sheets
2018Thibaut Courtois73
2014Manuel Neuer74
2010Iker Casillas76
2006Gianluigi Buffon75
2002Oliver Kahn75
1998Fabian Barthez75
1994Michel Preudhomme42
Golden Glove Winners in FIFA World Cup

1. Thibaut Courtois

Thibaut Courtois
Image Credit: Twitter

Thibaut Courtois was born on 11th May 1992. He is a Belgian football player who plays as a goalkeeper for the Spanish club Real Madrid as well as the Belgium national team. Initially, he joined Chelsea in 2011 July. Thereafter in 3 seasons, he won the Europa League, the Copa del Rey, and the La Liga title in 2012,2013, and 2014 respectively. Courtois began his senior international playing career in 2011 October. After then he became the youngest goalkeeper to act for Belgium. In 2018, he was signed by Real Madrid for £35 million and became La Liga’s most expensive goalkeeper at that time. Again, he won a second La Liga title and a third Zamora trophy in 2020. Finally, he received the Golden Glove in 2018 as the best goalkeeper of the tournament.

2. Manuel Neuer

Manuel Neuer
Image Credit: Twitter

Manuel Neuer was born on 27 March 1986. He is a German football player who not only plays as a goalkeeper but also captains both Bundesliga club Bayern Munich and the German national team. He is one of the most famous goalkeepers in football history. Neuer has been known as a “sweeper-keeper” due to his playing style and speed. He was the best goalkeeper from 2011 to 2020 by IFFHS. Initially, Neuer began his career at Schalke 04. He won the DFB-Pokal and DFL-Ligapokal awards. He joined Bayern Munich in 2011 and won nine Bundesliga titles and two UEFA Champions League titles in 2013 and 2020.

Further, Neuer was ranked third for the FIFA Ballon d’Or award behind Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in 2014. He received the UEFA Goalkeeper of the Year and the IFFHS World’s Best Goalkeeper five times each. Neuer was selected as the top goalkeeper of Germany for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa. He only conceded a single goal during the group stage matches. Neuer won the 2014 FIFA World Cup. He was also awarded the Golden Glove award for being the best goalkeeper in the tournament.

3. Iker Casillas

Iker Casillas
Image Credit: Twitter

Iker Casillas is a Spanish retired football player who played as a goalkeeper. Casillas is known as “Saint Iker” due to his ability to produce spectacular saves. He is famous for his playing skills, quick reactions, and outstanding goal-stopping ability. Initially, he spent the majority of his career days at Real Madrid. He is one of the players to play over 1000 matches. Further, he holds the record for the cleanest sheets not only in the UEFA Champions League but also for the Spain team.

He started his career with the Real Madrid youth team and joined the main team in 1999. He was also the youngest goalkeeper to play in the final of the Champions League. Again he became the number one choice goalkeeper at Real Madrid. He established himself as one of the best goalkeepers in the world by winning two Champions League and La Liga titles in his first three seasons.

4. Gianluigi Buffon

Gianluigi Buffon Is One Of The Golden Glove Award Winners
Image Credit: Twitter

Gianluigi Buffon was born on 28 January 1978. He is an Italian football player who not only captains but also plays as a goalkeeper for the Serie B club Parma. Buffon is one of the most popular goalkeepers of all time. Finally, he has a record to play more than 1,100 career matches.

5. Oliver Kahn

Oliver Kahn
Image Credit: Twitter

Oliver Kahn was born on 15 June 1969. He is a German football executive and former player who played as a goalkeeper. Initially, he began his career in the Karlsruher SC Junior team in 1975. After that Kahn played his first match in the professional squad. He joined Bayern Munich in 1994 and played till the end of his career in 2008. Further, he is one of the greatest and most successful goalkeepers of all time.

6. Fabian Barthez

Fabian Barthez
Image Credit: Twitter

Fabien Barthez was born on 28 June 1971. He is not only a French racing driver but also a former football player who played as a goalkeeper. He played football at club levels in both France and England. Further, he played for the France national team and won the 1998 FIFA World Cup, and UEFA Euro 2000. He also played in the final of the 2006 FIFA World Cup, after which he took retirement from football.

7. Michel Preudhomme

Michel Preudhomme
Image Credit: Twitter

Michel Preudhomme was born on 24 January 1959. He was not only a Belgian retired football player but also a manager who played as a goalkeeper. Further, he was one of the world’s best and most consistent goalkeepers. Finally, he received the Yashin Award for the first time as the best goalkeeper at the 1994 FIFA World Cup.

Who has the most golden glove awards?

Greg Maddux won the most golden glove awards.

What are the golden gloves?

The Golden gloves are awarded to the goalkeeper who has the highest number of clean sheets in the tournament.

You can refer to TOP 5 BEST CLUBS IN SERIE A | 2022 UPDATES


We hope you enjoyed our article on the List Of Golden Glove Award Winners In the FIFA World Cup. The List Of Golden Glove Award Winners In the FIFA World Cup is based on the official results. Please share your valuable thoughts in the comments section below. This page’s content is subject to change at any time. Our website ( makes no guarantees about the accuracy of the information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.