ISL Golden Boot Winners Of The Last 7 Seasons

ISL Golden Boot Winners Of Last 7 Seasons

ISL Golden Boot Winners play a crucial role in the league. ISL is the men’s football league and it is now famous all over India. The league is also known as Hero Indian Super League. 11 clubs participate in the league. Generally, the football league is scheduled from November to March every year. Each team faces the other teams in the league stage. After the league season is over, the team scoring the highest points will be named the Premiers. They receive the League Winners Shield trophy.

The top four clubs in the league stage qualify for the play-offs. Then the winner of the ISL final receives the ISL trophy. The league was formed on October 21, 2013, to increase awareness of the sport in India. The league started with 8 teams in October 2014. Prior to the 2017-18 season, ten teams started playing in the league. It also earned recognition from AFC. The winners of the league round play in the AFC champions league. But the winner of the ISL final directly plays in the AFC cup qualifying playoffs.

ISL Golden Boot

The top goal scorer in the ISL who scores the most goals in a season is awarded the ISL golden boot. Maruti Suzuki sponsored the award in 2014. Elano Blumer received the first ISL golden boot in 2014. He was the leading goal scorer who scored 8 goals in 11 matches. The race for the Golden boot was very tight in the 2019-20 ISL season. Three players scored 15 goals in the season. The league committee announced Nerijus Valskis as the golden winner as he has also assisted in 6 goals in 20 matches. Let’s take a look at the ISL Golden Boot Winners from the last seven seasons.

Player NameSeasonGoal
Bartholomew Ogbeche2021-2218
Igor Angulo2020-2114
Nerijus Valskis2019-2015
Ferran Corominas2018-1916
Ferran Corominas2017-1818
Marcelo Pereira201610
John Stiven Mendoza Valencia201513
Player details

1. Bartholomew Ogbeche

Bartholomew Ogbeche
Image credit: Twitter

Bartholomew Ogbeche was born in Ogoja on 1984, October 1. He is a Nigerian professional football player who plays as a striker for ISL club Hyderabad. Additionally, he also achieved ISL Winners Shield in 2020–21. Ogbeche played football clubs in France, United Arab Emirates, Spain, Greece, England, the Netherlands, and India, and became the all-time best scorer in ISL history. Further, he played for NorthEast United, Kerala Blasters, and Hyderabad.

Initially, he signed a contract for French Ligue 1 club Paris Saint-Germain. He started his ISL debut on October 1 and scored a 2–2 draw against Goa. After that, he became the first player to make a hat trick. He became a Nigerian international player at the age of 17. He was chosen for the 2002 FIFA World Cup and appeared in two matches. Finally, he achieved ISL’s golden boot winner for the 2021-22 season.

2. Igor Angulo

Igor Angulo
Image credit: Twitter

Igor Angulo was born on 26 January 1984 in Bilbao. He is a Spanish football player who plays as a forward for the ISL Mumbai City club. Angulo also played professionally in France, Greece, and India. He began his playing career on 2nd September 2004. Angulo won for Spain at various youth international levels. He began his debut as a senior player in Tercera Division in 2002. Again, In 2018–19, he achieved the league’s top scorer with 24 goals from 37 appearances.
Further, he agreed to a one-year contract at ISL Goa FC in 2020 July. After then he signed with ISL defending champions Mumbai City FC 2021. In March 2022, he was included in the club’s AFC Champions League team. He won seven caps for Spain including two for the under-21s. Finally, he achieved ISL Golden Boot Winner for the 2020-21 season.

3. Nerijus Valskis

Nerijus Valskis
Image credit: Twitter

Nerijus Valskis was born 0n 4th August 1987. He is a Lithuanian professional football player who plays not only as a striker for ISL club Chennaiyin but also for the Lithuania national team. Valskis is the greatest player in football history. He began his playing career in 2005 at FK Zalgiris. After that, he made 11 appearances before moving to Kauno Jegeriai. Valskis signed a 2-year contract with Jamshedpur FC in August 2020. Furthermore, he scored 8 goals for Jamshedpur in the 2020–21 ISL season. Finally, Valskis got ISL golden boot in the 2019-20 season.

4. Ferran Corominas

Ferran Corominas
Image credit: Twitter

Ferran Corominas was born on 5th January 1983. Generally, known as Coro is a Spanish player who plays as a forward. He started his first-team playing career on 2nd November 2003. He played in 200 competitive games and made 24 goals. Further, he won the 2006 Copa del Rey. He signed with Goa in the ISL In 2017. He won several trophies and games and also being all-time top-scorer. Again Coro won the 2002 European Under-19 tournament with Spain. He signed for ISL franchise FC Goa On 18 July 2017, in the Cypriot First Division with Doxa Katokopias FC. Further, On 30th April 2018, he renewed his contract for 1 year. Then he got the Golden Ball and helped his team reach the finals. Finally, he got the golden boot of ISL 2 respective seasons in 2017-18 and 2018-19.

5. Marcelo Pereira

Marcelo Pereira
Image credit: Twitter

Marcelo Pereira was born on June 22, 1987. He is a Brazilian football player who plays as an attacking midfielder. He started playing his career with the Spanish club Atletico Madrid B. Marcelo has also played for Brazilian, Spanish, Greek, Emirati, and Indian Clubs. He achieved major success in 2016 ISL as he won the Golden Boot. After that, he started playing for Pune City in the ISL 2017-18 and 2018-19. He joined the ISL club Odisha FC for ISL 2020-21 on September 2, 2020. Then he joined ATK Mohun Bagan FC on January 26, 2021. Finally, Marcelo joined NorthEast United on January 6, 2022, for ISL 2021-22

6. John Stiven Mendoza Valencia

John Stiven Mendoza Valencia is one of the ISL Golden Boot Winners
Image credit: Twitter

John Steven Mendoza Valencia is a Colombian football player who plays as a forward. He plays for the Brazilian club Ceara and Colombia national teams. He joined Chennaiyin in 2014 in the inaugural season of ISL. John also played in ISL 2015 and won the golden boot for scoring 13 goals.

Is the golden boot made of gold?

The golden boot can be made of brass alloy electroplated with gold or it can be an actual boot sprayed with gold paint.

When is the golden boot award given?

At the end of every season, the Golden Boot is awarded to the player, or players, who have scored the most goals in that season.

Who won the ISL golden boot 2022?

Bartholomew Ogbeche won the ISL golden boot 2022.



We hope you enjoyed our article on the ISL Golden Boot Winners Of the Last 7 Seasons. The ISL Golden Boot Winners Of the Last 7 Seasons is based on the official results. Please share your valuable thoughts in the comments section below. This page’s content is subject to change at any time. Our website ( makes no guarantees about the accuracy of the information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.